Sharing the passion for Jewellery and Jewellery making

I have been busy with Mary’s Treasure and finally have some pieces of jewellery to present.  The pictures are my usual poor quality but I am working on that with the help of BeadGem and Beading Daily.  These blogs have both recently  featured articles on how to photograph jewellery and this will probably be my personal challenge over the Christmas break.

You will find below five different ‘looks’ which have developed naturally as I cut and sorted the original nine necklaces.  The white necklace is proving stubborn to dismantle and I am considering ways to use it as it is but jazz it up, and the Haematite and Pearl twisted choker I like so much as it is that I still have not dismantled it (and probably won’t unless I get some really incredible inspiration).  I still have loads of beads left over and I will continue to make more necklaces, bracelets etc, but in the meantime I hope you like the few bits that I have made so far:

Cascade Choker

 

     The choker on the left is made from 5 and 6mm black faceted beads that were spacers in one of Mary’s necklaces.  I have added 4mm silver beads to add a bit of drama.  It is a simple design, but very effective on the neckline, with a bit of sparkle and understated elegance.

 
Mary’s Glass bead set

The glass beads in this set caught my imagination immediately, they were not obvious in the original necklace, but I felt that they are beautiful and deserved to be a focal point of a very simple necklace set.  The beads are clear glass decorated in blue, green, and gold.  I have set them in the necklace with black faceted and plain gold round beads and it is all hung on a double strand of gold coloured beading wire.

 

Three strand bracelet

The colours in this bracelet are vibrant and varied and made a lovely multi-strand bracelet.  I have used small Haematite tube beads as spacers to give a little sparkle against the quite matt finish of the acrylic beads.  Even the haematite came from Mary’s collection and I am pleased that I have been able to create something so very different to the necklace’s that originally held these beads.

 
Recycling and re-designing pre-owned jewellery is so rewarding, and as you can see from the results so far you can make jewellery that is suitable for evening, smart day and casual wear with a little thought and imagination.

Spiral Pendant

 
 

I made this pendant to show off the gorgeous colours of the beads and also to show that bead jewellery does not have to be bead heavy in order to make a statement.  This type of pendant would look fantastic over a black PoloNeck jumper, and I think I will try to make a smaller version for earrings which would just complete the look.

A Hint of Xmas

The large twisted green beads are wonderfully shaded in a variety of hues and just called out to have a seasonal theme.  I made the beady bead from my stash to try out the bicone embellishment, not really thinking about the colours and when I had finished I just knew that it had to go with Mary’s green twisted beads.  Not only are the colours so traditionally Christmas, but my favourite colours are Red and Green so if I still have this necklace at Christmas then it will definitely be around my neck as I quaff a little Christmas cheer with friends.

I will continue to reinvigorate old jewellery as it is becoming a passion, and it feels so good to breath new life into gems and beads that can give pleasure all over again.

Comments on: "Mary’s New Jewellery" (4)

  1. I understand your passion for remaking old jewelry. I like to reinvent my own older pieces when I feel they no longer represent my present skill level.

    The colors in these pieces are brilliant and you’ve redesigned the jewelry beautifully.

    As for the photography, I use http://www.picnk.com for photo editing. They’re great and very easy to use.

    • Thank you for the lovely comments and the link for photo editing, I will give it a try. I am still in the early and clumsy stages of Jewellery making but I do love the creative outlet to my life.

  2. Karn Lewis said:

    Jane you have done Mary proud. She would have loved everything you have done so far and I cant wait to see the other items you make. I have always known you were a talented women and I count my blessings that we have been friends all these years. On behalf of Mary and me I send you a big hug for all your hard work.

Leave a Reply

